Status
Not open for further replies.

Jefferson

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Originally posted by Lagardo

I am a youth pastor at a contemporary church and I want to say that I am very glad to hear someone questioning youth groups. Church youth groups as we know them came about primarily in the 60s & 70's as churches saw an overwhelming number of teenagers (ie. the baby boomers). The common rationale was that the church needed to be presented at the teenagers' level in order to retain these future church members and leaders. Thus, churches began to have youth services, youth mission trips, youth camps, etc. etc. etc. This type of ministry has become such a mainstay of our churches that we don't stop to question it. But here's the problem: This type of ministry has failed. It came about to "disciple" the baby boomers in their teen years. In general, the baby boomers left the church in droves, shortly after graduating from their youth groups.

Now, I don't presume to have all the answers. I am a "lifer" youth minister. I have an MDIV, I am liscensed and ordained. I am not a pastor-in-training. God has called me to pastor young people and that's what I do, but I do believe there are some real problems in an area that never gets questioned. Here's a few:

Youth Group Culture: youth ministry often presents the church in such a different way than the rest of the church that the youth become a part of a little subculture and find it difficult to "fit in" with the rest of the church.

Dating Evangelism: The youth ministry becomes a place to meet or bring a date. We can all point to that one sweet story we know of the non-christian boy who comes with his girlfriend and get saved. Great! I'm happy for Him and the angels are rejoicing...but does this justify the fact that we are in a sense, using our girls as bait when we encourage, allow, or promote this? Isn't there a better way to reach the non-christian boys?