General question for all TOL religious people

musterion

If there is a living human on earth who you believe has spiritual authority* over you, who is that person?

*meaning it's God's will for you to somehow be under them or answerable to them; they likewise will ultimately answer to God for how they exercised their authority over you.

Last edited:

theophilus

If there is a living human on earth who you believe has spiritual authority* over you, who is that person?

*meaning it's God's will for you to somehow be under them or answerable to them; they likewise will ultimately answer to God for how they exercised their authority over you.

1. If I am married my husband has spiritual authority over me.
2. If I am a church member my Pastor and the elders and deacons have spiritual authority over me.
3. If I am a child living with my parents they have spiritual authority over me.

musterion

Does that mean he is answerable to God for you? Remember...having authority GIVEN over others means the one to whom authority is delegated still answers to the one who gave it.

2. If I am a church member my Pastor and the elders and deacons have spiritual authority over me.

I used to believe that but now disagree on dispensational grounds, but I know I'm in a distinct minority.

3. If I am a child living with my parents they have spiritual authority over me.

That, I can agree with.

jamie

LIFETIME MEMBER

No they don't. Each of us is accountable to God for what we say and do. We can't pass the buck to someone else nor can we say the devil made me do it.

theophilus

Does that mean he is answerable to God for you? Remember...having authority GIVEN over others means the one to whom authority is delegated still answers to the one who gave it.

1 Cor. 7:4 The wife does not have authority over her own body, but the husband does;